Bad news

8 Dec

The dreadlocks have gone!

I received this email today from the recruitment company I have been dealing with for the job I’m waiting for,

Would you be able to send me your current picture? Our client has certain requirements with regards to hairstyle and I want to make sure yours is acceptable for the vessel’s management.

Boom, I read that, shut the computer down, straight to the hair dressers which was ironically called “new looks”. I walk in and get confused looks, like “mate you’re a hippy, hippy’s don’t get haircuts, haven’t you looked in the mirror”. I say, “I don’t care what you do, just make me look like a 6 star waiter, and please excuse me if I start crying during the process”.

Yep so it looks like I’m going start being carded when going to the pub again, and if it was possible people tell me I look even skinnier! Haha, but Antarctica is getting closer, and by the way, I haven’t cried yet even after I cut myself shaving (twice!).

 

 

 

Here’s the before shot again, when I used to look like I had been through puberty.

 

16 Responses to “Bad news”

  1. Paul Matthews December 8, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    Hey mate, call or email me asap please.

    • Hap December 8, 2009 at 8:19 am #

      Good talking bro, cheers heap for that, awesome bro.

  2. SIch December 8, 2009 at 6:50 am #

    Classic mate, what a transformation. I reckon not six, but 7 stars. An emotional event none the less.

    Really hoping this works out… not long to go eh! We just left Antarctica today and are on our way north to Ushuaia, see you in a couple of days.

    Sich

    • Hap December 8, 2009 at 8:22 am #

      Sich bro, the man that has made it all happen, yeah mate fingers crossed your doctor onboard gives me the go ahead.
      Having a few quilmes now, catch up on Wednesday if you have time, I’m still at the hostel, 1 month now! If not catch u up on the boat if i’m allowd on.
      NBL Hap

  3. fiona cutler December 8, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    woah happa! Still remember the day mine got the chop, much respect for the dedication. Fingers n toes are crossed! xo

    • Hap December 8, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

      Sup Fi diddley di!
      Cheers, all looking good, well work wise speaking. Yeah, sucks doing the chop.
      Sounds like you having a ball in British Columbia. Have you experienced Vancouvers Hasting Street yet? I would say they have probably cleaned it up for the winter olympics, but my god that was one disturbing street.
      Have a ball, and a kokanee for me.
      Nuthin but love Hap

  4. crystal December 8, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    Whoa! I kept looking at the pictures, and wondering why you didn’t post the final product. Then I realized that the fourth picture is you…not the barber…after all was said and done! You looked like a complete stranger ;O (but you also look squeaky clean and ready for action!)
    XXOO Crystal

    • Hap December 8, 2009 at 10:44 pm #

      Classic aye!
      Mandy is officially a suger mumma with her 18 year old play boy, haha. It’s funny, people I have been hanging out with in the hostel the last couple of days didn’t even recognise me, it was gold.
      All looking good for Antarctica, but not counting my chickens until I’m leaving port, so keep me crossed.
      NBL Hap

  5. Ngaire December 9, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    WOW!!! I’m speechless Hap, you look so different! but definitly well smart enough looking for a 6 star cruise ship!!! GOOD LUCK, GOT MY FINGERS & TOES CROSSED FOR YOU!!! xoxox

    • Hap December 9, 2009 at 9:14 am #

      Cheers Niza!
      haha, yeah well different aye! All looking good here, I just have to pass my medical, and I’m off, so keep em crossed. I hope your business is cranking, sending you big love from Ushuaia.
      NBL Hap

  6. Andrea December 9, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    Wow! Awesome effort Hap, very impressive!! Good luck!!!!! Am crossing everything here for you in Japan too. I’m making sure our new baby crosses everything for you too! She was born just 2 and a half weeks ago – 8 days late. But good things are worth waiting for. Just like you and Antarctica!!!

  7. Andrea December 9, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    Oh and I forgot to write, I had dreads too. Twice in fact. I was always too scared to cut them off (I played soccer pretty seriously, my bf back then didn’t want me to shave my head so I’d look like a lesbian!?) so combed them out both times. It took months both times! But I know how it feels to say goodbye to them. So sad and where I was in Dunedin, people treated me totally differently without dreads, was a real eye opener as to how shallow people can be. Travelling with them was gold though.
    Grow them back once Antarctica is over!

  8. Kate December 15, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    Hey Hap! Dude, I was wondering why I couldn’t recognize you…. well no wonder, your locks are gone 😦 But, you’re in Antarctica 🙂 That is insanely awesome! Congrats, you finally got there.

    -Kate (from Bariloche)

    • Hap December 19, 2009 at 10:24 am #

      Hey Kate,
      cheers for the comment, I hope work/study is good back in California and the rest of you Bariloche stay was wicked.
      NBl Hap

  9. Stacey Holmwood December 15, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Hap,
    You probly don’t remember us, but we are the Canadian couple from Perth. I am friends with Mandy on Facebook and get all the updates of your adventures…. just wanted to say that you are an amazing guy and very inspirational! Congrats on your accomplishments!!! I hope you enjoy the ship!
    Your hair looks great!

    Take care
    Stacey and Aaron

    • Hap December 19, 2009 at 10:20 am #

      G’day Stacy,
      for sure remember you guys, cheers for the words, I’ve got use to the ship now and the lifestyle or should i say the lack of lifestyle, but everything going well.
      Thanks again for the comments and I hope Perth is treating you both well, make the most of those beaches for me.
      NBL Hap

Leave a comment